Starting a New Blog: Seriously. Why Not Just Buy a Journal?

I used to write a lot.  Fiction, product catalogues, magazine articles.  Recently, the focus of my life has been elsewhere and I hadn’t been putting pen to paper as much.  But it was calling to me.

Every time a lightbulb goes on and I gain some quality knowledge – find some truth – I feel a pull to write about it.

Great!  Write it down. But why in a blog?  Why not in a journal?  Seriously, why air your dirty laundry for the world, Colleen?

After I started making notes and storing up topics I wanted to blog about, I decided that I’d better answer that question.  Cause if all I was doing was journaling then wasn’t it best left unpublished for the safety of all those close to me?

Here’s what I came up with:

1. Human Nature

I’m on a journey that others just might relate with.  After all, that’s what humans do, isn’t it?  We live in community and strive to relate.

When we struggle, we seek out others who have struggled with the same issues.  Sometimes, we’re looking for someone to wallow in our pit with us and agree with our victim-thinking.  I’m not into that. (Not that I never fall into that trap.  I do.  But, thankfully, good writing gets edited, sometimes a number of times before publication. If any of my ‘poor-me’ moments sneak into my writing, they will get snuck back out before anyone else has to read them.)

Hopefully, I can add to the positives on the internet by providing a spot readers can find solutions and encouragement for their struggles, as well as an oasis to visit for a bright moment in their day.

Why, if I’ve been blessed with a hunger for life-long learning and the ability to put words together coherently, would I not do that?

2. Walk a Mile, See a Mile

I’ve learned a thing or two lately, by the grace of God and through the loving leadership of some wonderful people. Perhaps I can pass on what I’ve learned.

Of course, I don’t feel that I’ve reached any great distance along the road to having it all figured out.  I find that a hilarious joke, actually.  But I do know that it doesn’t take an expert to help a parent add one skill to their bag of tricks, for example.  All it takes for another parent to teach me a new skill, is for them to know one that I don’t. They just need to be a little bit farther down the road.

3. Integration

I write to learn.  Okay.  So I’ve learned something new.  What’s the best way to integrate this new idea into my world view, into my way of doing life?  Read about it, write about it and talk about it with others.

There is no way I’ll be able to make the touch-down, as it where, for a teachable moment with my kids – or anyone – if I can’t remember how I survived the struggle or what truth came to light with experience.  So, I read, discuss and, yes, write about what I’m learning or have learned.

The Aim

Help.

To be a help.

To help myself grow.

To encourage others to help themselves, to grow themselves.

To encourage people to offer their help.

We get so preoccupied with our lives and its easy to forget that the aim is not just to get out the other side intact.  In fact, we’re guaranteed to fail, if that’s what we’re trying to do.  I’ve read that sentiment so often, it’s almost cliché.  But it’s true.  We’re not here to survive.  We’re here to do something.  We’re meant to have an impact.

So, how am I impacting our world?  If I don’t write about what I learn then I limit my impact to my immediate sphere of influence.  On the flip side, if I don’t write, I limit the integration of my lessons, which happens through sharing thoughts and ideas with others.  And limited lesson integration means less positive influence on my immediate sphere.  My family and friends would then become my ‘sphere of no-influence’ or worse, my ‘sphere of bad-influence’.

After all that pondering, it’s crystal clear.  Blog on!  Small or great, God gave us all talents and experiences that we can impact our world with.

How about you? Are you cultivating the gifts God gave you so you will have that one extra trick that you can pass on?  Leave me a comment.  What are you being called to do to positively impact your world?

Leave a Reply

