Become a People Person: My Top 15 Book List

Any self-learner reads.  They may also listen to recordings of wise speakers (as reading behind the wheel shows either super-human driving ability or substandard judgment).  But they definitely read.

As my stated goal is to learn as much as I can about relating to the people in my world, then I’d better be reading on the topic, right?  Absolutely.  And, as another one of my goals is to get good at learning from a mentor, you’d better believe that I don’t pull any of the books I read out of a hat.  And I definitely didn’t pick them with my own wisdom.  I do have some wisdom, sure.  But I’m looking for new wisdom, from new sources.

These titles have all been suggested to me by people who have the results that I want to emulate.  Some from spiritual mentors, some from business owners and lots from wise people who have fruit on the tree in more than one area of life.  (These are the people who really get my attention.)

The Top 5’s in three categories are in no particular order.  Number 5 is as good as number 1.  So, without further ado, welcome to my library!

Category: Attitudes and Beliefs, Top 5

(Or ‘Fixing Me’)

  1. The Magic of Thinking Big, David J. Schwartz, Ph.D
  2. The Difference Maker, John C. Maxwell
  3. Resolved, 13 Resolutions for Life, Orrin Woodward
  4. Launching a Leadership Revolution, Orrin Woodward and Chris Brady
  5. The Ant and the Elephant, Vince Poscente

Category: External Changing, Top 5

(No, this is not subtitled ‘Fixing Others’.  It’s more like ‘Fixing How I Treat Others’.)

  1. How To Win Friends and Influence People, Dale Carnegie
  2. The Five Love Languages, Gary Chapman
  3. Personality Plus, Florence Littauer
  4. How I Raised Myself from Failure to Success in Selling, Frank Bettger
  5. How To Have Power and Confidence in Dealing with People, Les Giblin

Category: Relationship Growth, Top 5

(This could also be called ‘Attitudes and Beliefs’ but these books specifically attack our mistaken ‘wisdom’ related to our mates.)

Please note that I have taken much insight and wisdom about my relationship with my mate from the 10 books listed above.  And, in the 5 listed below, many of the same thoughts are repeated.  But these authors are masters of making ideas relevant to our most intimate fears, deep seated beliefs and vulnerable areas that affect how we relate to our mates.  These books are ‘musts’, in my opinion.

  1. Love and War, John and Stasi Eldredge
  2. The DNA of Relationships, Dr. Gary Smalley
  3. Finding the Hero in Your Husband, Dr Julianna Slattery
  4. Power of a Woman’s Words, Sharon Jaynes
  5. Becoming the Woman of His Dreams, Sharon Jaynes

(The previous titles, and other, appear on my Books for Growth board on Pinterest.com with pictures, if you’re a visual person.)

Every one of these books has changed my life for the better.  Or, more accurately, after having learned and applied principles from each of these books, with much prayer, I have changed my life for the better.  I wouldn’t want to be accused of selling a miracle cure, or anything.

So, want a change?  Warm up your favourite spot on the couch and get reading. For change. For you. And for everyone you have influence over.

Leave a Reply

