Introducing The Monday Morning Bragging Wife!

I’ll be honest with you, dear reader.  I came up with the idea of The Monday Morning Bragging Wife for purely selfish reasons. As you can see, I’ve just started this blog. And, though I’ve literally just begun adding dribs and drabs of content, every time I write a post, I’m hitting the same challenge.

Here’s my guilty secret.  Whenever I write about anything to do with personal growth or relationships, I want to use my own spouse as a good example to follow.  And, though that may not sound like a major crime, the truth about helping people like you and influencing people for good is that you can’t use your own situation as the example of what others should do very often. Before long, nobody’s listening to you blowing your own horn anymore.

All influence goes out the window. And that is not my goal for this blog.

(By the way, here is where you can read just why I started it and what I hope to accomplish with Upgradual, if you’re interested.)

As I pondered this dilemma, I thought about how often we brag about our kids. (Hopefully, more often than we complain about them!)  Contrasting that with how often I brag about my man just because – without the intent to convey a message – and I realized that the scales were tipped way in the wrong direction.

This is the man who leads our household and has the most influence on our kids. More than any male of the species.  The reason I can even brag about my kids has a lot to do with the fantastic example that Lenny is to them.

So, with that in mind, I decided to start a tradition.  Here on Upgradual, Monday mornings will start with a brag session.

I will happily kick things off with a paragraph or two of unabashed raving and boasting. As my readership grows, I look forward to hearing all about the heroic, romantic, adventurous, caring, strong, brave, brilliant men who rock your worlds.  This will – fingers crossed! – keep my posts from sounding like we’ve got it all together.  Cause that’s just funny.

Now I can’t wait for Monday morning! (Sick, I know.)

8 thoughts on “Introducing The Monday Morning Bragging Wife!

  1. This is Colleen’s mother after reading the blog for the first time – WOW ! – didn’t know she had such a command of the written word. Very well written. And, doesn’t the author sound like someone you’d like to know better and spend time with ?
    That’s my take – do I sound biased or just impressed ?

    Like

  2. This sounds great Colleen! It’s so nice that to be with people who aren’t afraid to tout their horns for their spouses! We get together and brag about our men instead of b#$%h. What a great trend to share! You are an amazing example and I’m proud to call you a friend.

    Like

    1. Hey! Thanks Kate. You are a great friend to have as well. Feel free to share the Monday morning plan to anyone you think could use a new perspective on their guy. Or someone who already have a great husband-image that we can feed off of! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

