Let the New Year of Bragging On Begin!

How topics come about for The Monday Morning Bragging Wife constantly amazes me and reminds me that God is in my everyday.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you.

~ Jeremiah 29:11-12 (New International Version)

So, today I got up and spent the morning peacefully at home with my family.  I puttered around and pondered what to write for my regular Monday morning post so that I would have it ready tonight before we got to our New Years Eve celebrations.  With such a busy week passed, I simply hadn’t spent much time thinking on what to write. Nothing much was coming up today, either.

Actually, that’s not true.  It has been a whirlwind, roller coaster week and there were so many things I could write about that decision making was becoming an issue.  And, clearly, thinking about anything – like days of the week – hasn’t been my strong point this Christmas season.

As time to get our family fondue ready to go with our New Years movie night drew near, Lenny approached me about getting things rolling.

“Sure, let’s start the prep.  I just need to make sure I write this before we start eating,” I said.  “I have to get it ready to post cause tomorrow’s Monday.”

With one eyebrow up and one down, he looked at me for a second.

Today is Monday, Colleen.”

Uh oh…  I have been accused of being a detail person before.  But that is not my dominate character trait. And it certainly hasn’t been my bent this week.

But, as soon as he said that, my trouble figuring out how to brag on him was gone.

There is one reason – and one reason only – that I had time to putter, ponder and lose track of the days this week. Only one reason I could get so out of touch with my calendar that The Monday Morning Bragging Wife became a Monday evening event.  In fact, I have had three whole days that the only thing I ‘had’ to do was go to church.

This one reason has a very charming smile and – at the moment – a very scruffy three-day-beard.

We had plans for these three day.  And they were good plans.  We were going to do more visiting and more traveling.  Nothing wrong with seeing family through the holidays.  I love my family. But we were overdone.  And, seeing and feeling this, Lenny pressed ‘Pause’.  He was getting overwhelmed and said so.

At first, I was disappointed even as I realized that peace at home was way more important than getting to see every person on the list.  So, we switched gears.

Hence the three days of family time.  Lenny’s personality could have easily gone with the flow and the plan.  He would have finished off his ‘holiday’ completely spent.  But he didn’t.

Hence yet another reason for me to brag. Yet another reason to be grateful God placed this man in my life.

medium_8329487711

    How about you?

Now it’s your turn.  I love that I’m seeing some readers checking out The Monday Morning Bragging Wife.  Please leave me your feedback.

What great thing did your hero do for you this Christmas?  Even if things went badly, is there some little thing that they handled better than normal?  What made you look twice, surprised at his response to a challenge or difficult person. (We do run into difficult people at this time of year, don’t we?)

Happy New Year, dear readers!

TheBetterMom.com

photo credit: Tim . Simpson via photopin cc

2 thoughts on “Let the New Year of Bragging On Begin!

Leave a Reply

