Men Are Morons… if you believe the media

Everyone needs a fan.  This morning’s brag session is about my biggest fan and how I can be his in a world that wants him to believe he’s not all that.

Here we go…

I’m sure our youngest would argue for the title of biggest fan, but when it comes to concrete, logical and feeling encouragement, Lenny is number one.  (As I write this, I’m realising that I’m super blessed with people who could compete for that title.  Wow! Thank you, Lord!)

Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?

– Matthew 6:27

When I have a moment of worry- most often about whether I’m doing a good enough job of teaching our children – Lenny is right there to tell me what he sees.  Far from being a glory hog, he knows that, with his work schedule and skill set, he would not be able to provide them with the things that I provide them with.  He teaches them lots but he’s great at telling me what he see’s me teaching them.

How blessed am I?

Lenny’s support is a great boost and helps me to curb my inclination to worry.  Another thing it does is remind me to keep an eye to how I’m doing in the roll of ‘encourager’. (Seriously? ‘Unfriend’ is a word in the dictionary but ‘encourager’ isn’t?!?)

Men Are Morons – Why I Think Women Need to Up Their Game

A tradition started many years ago!
A tradition started many years ago!

There is a reason why I take my roll as encourager, cheerleader and general Lenny-booster very seriously.

Have you watched a sitcom or a funny movie lately?  Next time you watch one, take note of the family dynamics going on.  Moronic men, controlling, demeaning women and snarly, sassy children are the norm. Very often the mom and the kids form a team against the dad, driving home the point that he is unnecessary – even a hindrance in their lives.  At best, the men are often portrayed as something akin to the family pet.

If an alien were to watch our media, what would they think of our men? How about when our own children watch the same media – what does their subconscious mind absorb about what makes a man?

(In fact, if anyone has a recommendation of a funny movie that portrays responsible, sensible men contributing to their lives in a meaningful way, please share! :))

This is a really big deal to me.  It’s why I participate actively in the media war.

I have a great encourager and I strive to be his cheerleader as well.

Is there a way that you could encourage your man more?  Is there a way that he encourages you that we could all learn from and add appreciation to?

Do tell!

Check out this past Monday Morning Bragging Wife called One Grateful Homeschooling SAHM about the decision to home school despite the financial challenge.

TheBetterMom.com

Why I Love My Husband

Christian Marriage Advice

photo credit: twitchery via photopin cc

13 thoughts on “Men Are Morons… if you believe the media

    1. 😀 I was so happy when I came across that photo too. It just shows that as a thirty-something, I have been programmed all my life to think this way. Wow! It makes me so glad to hear that there are other women out there who get it and are fighting against it.

      Like

  1. I agree that men or husbands are often portrayed as losers or bumbling idiots in media. The same is true for “parents” when going up against the ever-savvy teens. It really is having a negative effect on our culture. And I love that you make encouraging your number one encourager a priority. I don’t do it enough for my hubby, so this is a great reminder for me, Colleen! Thanks so much. 🙂

    Like

    1. Great point about the parents being undermined in the media as well. So true.
      As for encouraging our men, one of my favourite teaching cds describes men like an M1 tank. I took from it that they’re tough and heroic to the outside world but easily undermined by someone on the inside. And I’m that someone on the inside so I’d better not be doing any undermining!
      Thanks for visiting, MM!

      Like

  2. I completely agree with you about the media. Children are being taught that its okay to be disrespectful & disobedient. Men are shown to be nothing but fools for comic relief. I show my children that I think their dad deserves respect and has tons of knowledge. We must all be our spouse’s biggest fan.

    Sophia

    Like

    1. Fools for comic relief… well said. And very destructive to society. When the king of Egypt wanted to get rid of the Israelites, he didn’t have them all killed. He passed a law instructing that all the boy babies be killed. This is how societies are brought down and the media is doing no different.

      Like

  3. Great post and reminder Colleen!

    Men are GREAT! It’s actually a book… by Karen Jones… you would love her comments on the man bashing everywhere. As a Mom of two teen boys, it’s my privilege to remind them every day they are splendid young men.

    Because women’s brains are completely different then men, it can be easy to fall into the trap of tsk tsking. Women often think their men should be hairy women. They are not! Men do not value reading minds nor dealing with subtlety. They do not multi-task and they like clear, to the point conversations. Men really do want to make us happy… which is why we women need to give them clear directions on HOW to make us happy!

    Wishing you a lovely day!

    Ande

    Like

    1. Ande,

      That sure sounds like a book that I would appreciate!

      Your point that men’s brains are different than ours is an important one. And that they want to make us happy. So true! And how much happier I am since learning more about men and how they tick. One of my main purposes in life is to promote better knowledge about how we women can make our relationships better by understanding just how they work. And that means understanding how men think.

      Because they do. Despite what the TV says.

      Thanks for visiting, Ande. Have a great evening.

      Colleen

      Like

  4. When I first saw the title on Twitter, I wasn’t sure what to expect from this post. But I LOVE it! Especially, the “general Lenny-booster” comment. I love that you’re bucking the systematic degradation of men. We need more women like you, Colleen. So glad to have met you (online anyhow :)).

    Like

    1. Fawn, I was reading more on your blog yesterday. I’m so glad to have ‘met’ you too!

      And, “systematic degradation of men”… that’s exactly it. It’s serving a very dark purpose and I want to help stop it! CHARGE! LOL!

      Like

Leave a Reply

