A Long Day With a Quarrelsome Wife

This post is part of the Monday Morning Bragging Wife series. Check out last week’s Brag Session here.  And, by all means, feel free to brag about your husband or link to your own bragging blog in the comments.  Let’s make a tradition of uplifting our men publicly!

~~~

Yesterday was one of those days.

You know the days when every little thing gets under your skin? When you feel little peace?  Maybe you don’t know how that feels, but I do.  They don’t come around that often, thankfully.  Sure, most days have small irritations woven into them but they’re individual instances that, once gone, are gone.

medium_3283363001

Yesterday felt more like a grumpy monster was sitting on my heart.  My patience was low and my “I can manage the next hurdle” thinking was replaced with: “Seriously?! Don’t even ask me about ANYTHING!”

It’s better to live alone in the corner of an attic than with a quarrelsome wife in a lovely home.

– Proverbs 21:9

It all started when, as I was starting to fix my hair for church (still in my PJ’s with an unfinished coffee in hand), someone said: “We have to be there 15 minutes early this morning.”  Perhaps he should have headed for the attic right then.

Really?  We do?  This was news to me.  And my time to get ready had just been cut in half.  Trim off 5 or even 10 minutes and I’m still in good shape.  Half the time?  Not so much.  That was the beginning of a landslide that I’m not proud of.

Am I saying that was the cause of my bad mood? Nope.  Am I saying that the sudden schedule change was different than the thousand other small inconveniences that will pepper my week?  That pepper every week?  Not that either.

I am not here to run down all of the things that frustrated me unnecessarily yesterday.  I am here to brag about Lenny.  😀  It is Monday morning after all.  And, while he may not have lept any tall buildings, he did far better, in my eyes.

Throughout the day, when I know his automatic reaction would have been to get angry with me and treat me with contempt, he didn’t.

Understand this, my dear brothers and sisters: You must all be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to get angry. Human anger does not produce the righteousness God desires.

 – James 1:19-20

He patiently and carefully, let me know that he saw me getting overly stressed about things.  He came to me with a hug, a kiss and a kind word more than once through the day.  Even through the haze of my negative thought induced grump, I recognized that he had brought his A game.  Even when he did start to lose his cool, he took a moment – only a few seconds, really – and came back solid.

And, thank the Lord.  It could easily have been a horrible day for everyone.  But Lenny, my hero, kept his helmet on when his partner had lost hers.  What a blessing he was to everyone in our house yesterday.

Now it’s your turn:

There are times when we all drop the ball.  How does your husband support you through those times?  Please share your thoughts and experience so others can see themselves – and their men – through your eyes.

Linking up with:TheBetterMom.com

Christian Marriage Advice


Why I Love My Husband

photo credit: Dustin Diaz via photopin cc

8 thoughts on “A Long Day With a Quarrelsome Wife

  1. I have days like that far more often than I would like to admit. Sometimes I just wake up on the wrong side of the bed. Yesterday was one of those days. My husband has almost infinate patience with me, especially when I am in a “mood”.

    Like

  2. I had a day like that back a week or so ago. My husband didn’t get involved in the “fray” either and I’m so glad he didn’t. It really helped me to see my ugly attitude so much clearer than if he had tried to correct me or convince me of my wrong doing. Great thoughts here, Colleen! Thanks also for stopping by my place. 🙂

    Like

  3. I love when I’m stressed and my husband can just sense that I need a hug, or a tickle, or a joke to make me laugh. It complete disarms me and reminds me of an all important truth. Whatever is stressing me out isn’t nearly as important as my husband and I can get back to that nonsense later (after I’ve been held by my honey).

    Like

Leave a Reply

